Master of Diplomatic and Higher Studies

Master of Higher Diplomatic StudiesMASTER OF ART IN DIPLOMACY

Training aims

The Master of Diplomatic and Strategic Studies is a high-level program designed to meet the needs of new forms of international governance, in particular by the need for enlargement, deepening, modernization of  improvement and updating of the knowledge, know-how and interpersonal skills of diplomats and senior officers, senior executives of the international civil service, other decision-makers, state and non-state. 

This program contributes to updating the knowledge, in Senegal and Africa, of decision-makers who are responsible for strategic issues and external affairs of their country or their company, both in terms of international and diplomatic relations as well as in terms of military, legal, economic and commercial. It also serves as a lever for  preparing young executives for diplomatic and international careers. 

Auditors concerned

Initially reserved for senior officials, career diplomats, international civil servants, Ministers and Parliamentarians, senior officers, senior executives from the private sector and non-governmental organizations, the Master's program in Diplomacy and Strategy is currently open to young students. already hold a Master's degree or at least a license in disciplines related to economic, economic and social legal sciences. 

The number of places is voluntarily limited. The objective being qualitative, any application is studied by the Scientific Council of CEDS in Dakar. 

Admission conditions and duration of the course 

The overall duration of the training is two years divided into four semesters.
Candidates holding a license with or without professional experience complete the course in two years. Candidates who already have a Master 2 or the former Master (BAC + 4) with confirmed professional experience can go directly to the 2nd year on the advice of the Scientific Selection Committee subject to a conclusive evaluation of their prerequisites concerning the courses. fundamentals of the 1st year. 

 

Nature of teaching and training program

In order to be compatible with the responsibilities and professional obligations of auditors, the continuing education and development cycle is organized over the academic year as follows:

- Two to three half-days per week :

Public International Law and Diplomatic Law Conferences;

In-depth international relations conferences;

Conferences-debates on the major issues of international current affairs, on contemporary geopolitical and geostrategic areas, political affairs, foreign policy and the geostrategy of the great powers, world economic governance, regional economic integration, economic intelligence and national security, intelligence and the security environment of States, strategic analysis, the geopolitics of conflicts in the world ...

- At the end of the optional specialization seminars :

 

Diplomacy, Politics and Foreign Affairs;

Security / Strategy-Defense / Conflict prevention and consolidation of  the peace

Business Diplomacy and Economic Diplomacy;

Non-governmental diplomacy and decentralized cooperation

Economic intelligence and strategy. 

This course is completed by : 

Regular ambulatory or dinner cocktails

Work in study groups and in research / action groups

A study trip abroad, partly at the expense of the auditors, will be organized.

 

The previous sessions were marked by study trips made to Paris and Brussels, which allowed the auditors to visit major international institutions including the headquarters of NATO, the ACP, the Agence Internationale de la Francophonie where conferences were organized in their honor, at the Joint Defense College, at the World Bank and at the Senate.

For the next session, the study trip will be organized at Maghreb especially in Morocco where listeners will have the opportunity to discover the characteristics of an emerging country whose experience in diplomacy and governance can greatly inspire other African countries south of the Sahara. 

 

Additional optional study trips, like those already carried out in Paris and Brussels, open to partners, may be offered to auditors and former auditors who will accept the conditions set by the Dakar CEDS.

Faculty

It is made up exclusively of university professors, career diplomats, journalists, lawyers and senior officers, general officers and practitioners of international affairs. Thus, in addition to Senegalese and African professors, teaching is provided by a visiting faculty appointed by the CEDS in Paris. If necessary, renowned international specialists and experts are called upon for conferences.

 

Sanction of Studies 

The Master of Higher Diplomatic Studies Program, subject to sufficient attendance, validation of semester credits and admission to the Grand Oral at the end of the session, is first sanctioned by end of session certificate. After defending their thesis, the auditors of the CEDS in Dakar, like their colleagues in Paris, obtain the Master of Higher Diplomatic Studies. This diploma can be obtained with the following mentions: 

¨ Honorable - Very Honorable - Very Honorable with Congratulations from the jury.

 

Cost of training 

The cost of the training indicated in the application file, for the 2020-2021 academic year, includes all registration fees, tuition, study trip to Morocco and various ambulatory or dinner cocktails. as well as coffee breaks and certain teaching aids for conferences.

The session starts January 2021 and lasts one to two years. Registrations must be confirmed by the end of February 2021 at the latest.

Opportunities

The program prepares for professional and / or academic careers. The major opportunities for CEDS graduates are manifold; we can note, among others: 

Possibilities for a diplomatic career in the ministries of foreign affairs, the ministries in charge of defense and security or other structures as Diplomatic Advisor or Strategy Advisor;

High-level international qualifications and expertise in government or civil service;

High-level qualifications and expertise to work in African or international regional institutions and organizations;

EN FR

Master d’Etudes Diplomatiques et Supérieures

Master d’Etudes Diplomatiques SupérieuresMASTER OF ART IN DIPLOMACY

Objectifs de la formation

Le Master d’Etudes Diplomatiques et stratégiques est un programme de haut niveau conçu pour répondre aux besoins des nouvelles formes de gouvernance internationale notamment par les nécessités d’élargissement, d’approfondissement, de modernisation de  perfectionnement et d’actualisation du savoir, du savoir-faire et du savoir-être des diplomates et officiers supérieurs, des cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique internationale, des autres acteurs décideurs, étatiques et non étatiques. 

Ce programme contribue à l’actualisation des connaissances, au Sénégal et en Afrique, des décideurs qui ont la charge des questions stratégiques et des affaires extérieures de leur pays ou de leur entreprise, tant sur le plan des relations internationales et diplomatiques que sur le plan militaire, juridique, économique et commercial. Il sert également de levier pour  la préparation des jeunes cadres aux carrières diplomatiques et internationales. 

Auditeurs concernés

Initialement réservé aux hauts fonctionnaires, aux diplomates de carrière, aux fonctionnaires internationaux, aux Ministres et Parlementaires, aux officiers supérieurs, aux cadres supérieurs du secteur privé et des organisations non gouvernementales, le programme de Master en Diplomatie et stratégie est actuellement ouvert aux jeunes Etudiants déjà titulaires d’un Master ou au moins d’une licence dans les disciplines en liens avec les sciences juridiques économiques, économiques et sociales. 

Le nombre de places est volontairement limité. L’objectif étant qualitatif, toute candidature est étudiée par le Conseil Scientifique du CEDS de Dakar. 

Conditions d’admission et duree du parcours 

La durée globale de la formation est de deux ans répartis en quatre semestres.
Les candidats titulaires d’une licence avec ou sans expériences professionnelles font le cursus en deux années. Les candidats justifiant déjà d’un Master 2 ou l’ancienne maîtrise (BAC+4) avec expériences professionnelles confirmées peuvent accéder directement en 2ème année sur avis du Comité scientifique de sélection sous réserve d’une évaluation concluante de leur pré requis concernant les enseignements fondamentaux de la 1ère année. 

 

Nature des enseignements et programme de la formation

Dans le souci d’être conciliable avec les responsabilités et les obligations professionnelles des auditeurs, le cycle de formation continue et de perfectionnement est organisé sur l’année universitaire de la manière suivante :

Deux à trois demi-journées par semaine :

Conférences de Droit international Public et de droit Diplomatique ;

Conférences de relations internationales approfondies ;

Conférences-débats sur les grands problèmes de l’actualité internationale, sur les aires géopolitiques et géostratégiques contemporaines, les affaires politiques, la politique étrangère et la géostratégie des grandes puissances, la gouvernance économique mondiale, l’intégration économique régionale, l’intelligence économique et la sécurité nationale, le renseignement et l’environnement sécuritaire des Etats, l’analyse stratégique, la géopolitique des conflits dans le monde…

En fin de sessions des séminaires optionnels de spécialisation :

 

Diplomatie, politique et affaires étrangères ;

Sécurité/Stratégie-Défense/Prévention des conflits et consolidation de  la Paix

Business Diplomacy et Diplomatie économique ;

Diplomatie non gouvernementale et Coopération décentralisée

Intelligence économique et stratégie. 

Ce cursus est complété par : 

Des cocktails ambulatoires ou dînatoires réguliers

Des travaux en groupe d’études et en groupe de recherche/action

Un voyage d’études à l’étranger, pour partie à la charge des auditeurs, sera organisé.

 

Les précédentes sessions ont été marquées par les voyages d’études effectués à Paris et à Bruxelles et qui ont permis aux auditeurs de visiter de grandes Institutions internationales dont le siège de l’OTAN, des ACP, de l’Agence Internationale de la Francophonie où des conférences ont été organisées en leur honneur, au Collège interarmées de défense, à la Banque Mondiale et au Sénat.

Pour la prochaine session, le voyage d’études sera organisé au Maghreb notamment au Maroc où les auditeurs auront l’occasion de découvrir les caractéristiques d’un pays émergent dont l’expérience en matière de diplomatie et de gouvernance peut largement inspirer les autres pays africains au Sud du Sahara. 

 

Des voyages d’études complémentaires optionnels, à l’image de ceux déjà effectués à Paris et Bruxelles, ouverts aux partenaires, peuvent être proposés aux auditeurs et anciens auditeurs qui accepteront les conditions fixées par le CEDS de Dakar.

Corps professoral

Il est exclusivement constitué de professeurs d’université, de diplomates de carrière, de journalistes, d’avocats et d’officiers supérieurs, d’officiers généraux et de praticiens des affaires internationales. C’est ainsi que, outre les professeurs sénégalais et africains, les enseignements sont assurés par un corps professoral visitant désigné par le CEDS de Paris. En cas de besoin, pour les conférences, il est fait appel à des spécialistes et experts internationaux de renom.

 

Sanction des Études 

Le Programme du Master d’Etudes Diplomatiques supérieures, sous réserve d’assiduité suffisante, de validation des crédits semestriels et d’admission au Grand Oral de fin de session, est sanctionné dans un premier temps par l’attestation de fin de session. Après soutenance de leur mémoire, les auditeurs du CEDS de Dakar, à l’instar de leurs collègues de Paris, obtiennent le Master d’Études Diplomatiques Supérieures. Ce diplôme, peut être obtenu avec les mentions suivantes : 

¨ Honorable – Très Honorable – Très Honorable avec les Félicitations du jury.

 

Coût de la formation 

Le coût de la formation indiqué dans le dossier de candidature, au titre de l’année académique 2020-2021, inclut l’intégralité des droits d’inscription, de scolarité, du voyage d’études au Maroc et des différents cocktails ambulatoires ou dînatoires ainsi que les pause-café et certains supports pédagogiques des conférences.

La session démarre Janvier 2021 et s’étale sur une durée d’un à deux ans. Les inscriptions doivent être confirmées au plus tard en fin février 2021.

Débouchés

Le programme prépare à des carrières professionnelles et / ou universitaires. Les opportunités majeures pour les diplômés du CEDS sont multiples; on peut noter, entre autres: 

Des possibilités de carrière diplomatique dans les ministères des affaires étrangères, les ministères en charge de la défense et de la sécurité ou autres Structures comme Conseiller Diplomatique ou Conseiller en stratégie;

Des qualifications et expertise internationale de haut niveau au sein du gouvernement ou de la fonction publique;

Des qualifications et expertise de haut niveau pour travailler dans les institutions et organisations régionales africaines ou internationales;

EN FR